Enjoy FREE 2-4 Day Shipping on your order of $30 or more! (48 contiguous states only)


Yasuda, Martha - Harmonious Melodies For Two Violas, Volume I - Digital Download

Digital Download
Yasuda, Martha - Harmonious Melodies For Two Violas, Volume I - Digital Download | YM018DD

(0) | Write a review

SHAR Price: $11

Item# YM018DD

Availability: Download available immediately after purchase

Earn 11 SHAR points! Learn More

About This Item

The grand total is 28 familiar, standard pieces! Including the same titles as the version for Two Violins, this book is packed with pieces by Bach, Beethoven, Brahms and Schumann and also includes all pieces in Suzuki Books 1B through Book 3.

It includes the Bach Minuets, Gavottes and Bourrees as well as pieces by Beethoven, Brahms and Schumann. The second viola parts are busier than most, while adhering to harmonies found in piano accompaniments.

Volume I is alphabetized according to composer names and can be used by teachers to help prepare students before they rehearse with a pianist or can actually be performed without a pianist.

Check out the other Harmonious Melody books: Harmonious Melodies, Volume One for: (1) Two Violins (2) Violin (Melody) and Viola (Harmony) (3) Viola (Melody) and Violin (Harmony) and (4) Violin/Viola and Cello.

This book is licensed to The Yasuda Music Company LLC by the International Suzuki Association.

NOTE: Bowings and slurs in certain top melody lines are omitted in order to adhere to copyright law. Please feel free to add your own markings. This second edition reflects copyright requirements of smaller font sizes and gray shading in melody lines as specified by the International Suzuki Association.

Digital version is available to download immediately after purchase. Simply log in to your SHAR account, click "My Account" in the top navigation bar, and select "My Digital Library". All digital sheet music purchased from SHAR will be available in your Digital Library to view/download to your computer or connected devices.


Title: Harmonious Melodies For Two Violas, Volume I
Composer: Various
Arranger: Martha Yasuda
Publisher: Yasuda Music Company LLC
Instrumentation: Viola Duet
Parts Included: Viola Parts
Pages: 55 pages, 28 arrangements
Additional Information:

Item Includes

  • Bourree - J.S. Bach
  • Gavotte in D Major - J.S. Bach
  • Gavotte in G Minor - J.S. Bach
  • Marche - J.S. Bach
  • Minuet No. 1 - J.S. Bach
  • Minuet No. 2 - J.S. Bach
  • Minuet No. 3 - J.S. Bach
  • Musette - J.S. Bach
  • Musette No. 2 - J.S. Bach
  • Gavotte - J. Becker
  • Minuet in G - L. van Beethoven
  • Minuet (from "Septet") - L. van Beethoven
  • Waltz - J. Brahms
  • Minuet - L. Boccherini
  • Sonatina - M. Clementi
  • Humoresque - A. Dvorak
  • Gavotte - F.J. Gossec
  • Bourree - G.F. Handel
  • Chorus - G.F. Handel
  • Gavotte - J.B. Lully
  • Witches Dance - N. Paganini
  • Melody - R. Schumann
  • Hunter's Chorus - C.M. Weber
  • The Happy Farmer - R. Schumann
  • The Two Grenadiers - R. Schumann
  • Dorthy (Old English Dance) - S. Smith
  • Gavotte from "Mignon" - A. Thomas

Warranty Info

Media Return Policy
All Digital product is non-refundable. Physical DVDs and CDs are non-refundable unless defective. If defective, they must be returned within 30 days of purchase for same title replacement only. No refunds will be given.

If you have any questions about this product's warranty or to make a return, please contact our Customer Service Department at 800.793.4334 or email us at [email protected]

About This Brand

About Martha J. Yasuda

Martha Yasuda's arrangements, transcriptions and compositions are a natural extension of her life in music, as an orchestral violinist and Suzuki-trained teacher, with a Bachelor of Music degree from the Eastman School of Music in Rochester, New York.

Martha began arranging in 2002 and since then has completed close to 80 volumes of arrangements for various string instrument combinations, including 26 books with duets for all pieces from Suzuki Books 1 through 8, licensed by the International Suzuki Association. She was also commissioned by the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra to write orchestral arrangements for the education concerts, called "Symphony Street: Adventures with the Orchestra."

Her series of duets and double stop solos for violin, viola and cello — featuring popular hymns, folk songs, wedding selections and Christmas tunes — has earned praise from teachers, performers and pedagogues:

"Mrs. Yasuda's idea of relating double stops to duets is very cleverly done and is clearly a demonstration of Dr. Suzuki's idea of making learning enjoyable for the student." ~ Suzuki pioneer, William Starr

Her arrangements are "expertly written and carefully edited for the student, and they delight with originality and flair." ~ William Preucil, Sr., Professor of Music (Emeritus) at The University of Iowa

"The six-volume Yasuda violin and cello duo series includes well-crafted, carefully edited arrangements for all levels of players, from the novice to the advanced." ~ Christopher Rex, Principal Cellist with the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra since 1979
Martha's recent publications, Timeless Melodies, Volumes I and II, include duets for top favorite pieces from Barbara Barber's six-volume series. Barber writes: "Finally, someone has written violin duet parts for many of the pieces in Solos For Young Violinists! They are well-written and easy to read. Thank you, Martha!"

Martha (Lewis) Yasuda grew up in Lynchburg, VA and studied violin with Suzuki teacher-trainer, Rudy Hazucha. She studied violin with Zvi Zeitlin and Charlie Castleman at the Eastman School, and with William Starr at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville, TN. She has freelanced with many different orchestras, including the Rochester Philharmonic, the Savannah Symphony, and the Greenville Symphony, and she always has maintained a teaching studio. In recent years, her arranging has taken front seat, as she continues to create materials that aim to inspire students, teachers and young audience members.

Mrs. Yasuda lives in Atlanta with her husband, Ken, and is a grandmother of four. She feels fortunate to be able to express herself through arranging music and gives all glory to God for the creativity she has been given.

Ratings & Reviews

Customer Questions