Enjoy FREE 2-4 Day Shipping on your order of $30 or more! (48 contiguous states only)


Yasuda, Martha - Folk Song Melodies For Viola (melody) And Cello (harmony) - Digital Download

Digital Download
Yasuda, Martha - Folk Song Melodies For Viola (melody) And Cello (harmony) - Digital Download | YM023DD
  • Yasuda, Martha - Folk Song Melodies For Viola (melody) And Cello (harmony) - Digital Download | YM023DD
  • Yasuda, Martha - Folk Song Melodies For Viola (melody) And Cello (harmony) - Digital Download | YM023DD
  • Yasuda, Martha - Folk Song Melodies For Viola (melody) And Cello (harmony) - Digital Download | YM023DD
  • Yasuda, Martha - Folk Song Melodies For Viola (melody) And Cello (harmony) - Digital Download | YM023DD

(0) | Write a review

SHAR Price: $11

Item# YM023DD

Availability: Download available immediately after purchase

Earn 11 SHAR points! Learn More

About This Item

This awesome resource finally fills a void, giving delightful arrangements to C-string instruments! It includes the first twelve songs in Suzuki book one AND nine additional folk songs! (Camptown Races, Danny Boy, Way Down Upon the Swanee River etc.). There are three verses of difficulty for the cellist (easy, medium and hard).

This is perfect for the cellist that has viola students in their studio, perhaps siblings -- now they can play fun, familiar duos together at ANY level of difficulty!

Check out the other Folk Song Melody books with the same titles: Folk Song Melodies for (1) Violin Ensemble (2) Viola Ensemble and (3) Violin/Cello (Melody) and Viola (Harmony).

This book is licensed to The Yasuda Music Company LLC by the International Suzuki Association.

NOTE: Bowings and slurs in certain top melody lines are omitted in order to adhere to copyright law. Please feel free to add your own markings. This second edition reflects copyright requirements of smaller font sizes and gray shading in melody lines as specified by the International Suzuki Association.

Digital version is available to download immediately after purchase. Simply log in to your SHAR account, click "My Account" in the top navigation bar, and select "My Digital Library". All digital sheet music purchased from SHAR will be available in your Digital Library to view/download to your computer or connected devices.


Title: Folk Song Melodies For Viola (melody) And Cello (harmony)
Composer: Various
Arranger: Martha Yasuda
Publisher: Yasuda Music Company LLC
Instrumentation: Viola and Cello
Parts Included: Viola part; Cello part
Pages: 56 pages, 21 arrangements
Additional Information:

Item Includes

  • Allegro - Shinichi Suzuki
  • Allegretto - Shinichi Suzuki
  • Andantino - Shinichi Suzuki
  • Camptown Races - Stephen Foster
  • Heaven's Dream - Fiddle Tune
  • Etude - Shinichi Suzuki
  • French Folk Song - Folk Song
  • Frere Jacques - Folk Song
  • Lightly Row - Folk Song
  • Long, Long Ago - Thomas Haynes Bayly
  • London Bridge Is Falling Down - Nursery Rhyme
  • Londonderry Air (Danny Boy) - Folk Song
  • May Song - Folk Song
  • This Old Man - Nursery Rhyme
  • O Come, LIttle Children - Folk Song
  • Perpetual Motion - Shinichi Suzuki
  • Scotland's Burning - Folk Song
  • Song of the Wind - Folk Song
  • Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star - W.A. Mozart
  • Way Down Upon the Swanee River - Folk Song

Warranty Info

Media Return Policy
All Digital product is non-refundable. Physical DVDs and CDs are non-refundable unless defective. If defective, they must be returned within 30 days of purchase for same title replacement only. No refunds will be given.

If you have any questions about this product's warranty or to make a return, please contact our Customer Service Department at 800.793.4334 or email us at [email protected]

About This Brand

About Martha J. Yasuda

Martha Yasuda's arrangements, transcriptions and compositions are a natural extension of her life in music, as an orchestral violinist and Suzuki-trained teacher, with a Bachelor of Music degree from the Eastman School of Music in Rochester, New York.

Martha began arranging in 2002 and since then has completed close to 80 volumes of arrangements for various string instrument combinations, including 26 books with duets for all pieces from Suzuki Books 1 through 8, licensed by the International Suzuki Association. She was also commissioned by the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra to write orchestral arrangements for the education concerts, called "Symphony Street: Adventures with the Orchestra."

Her series of duets and double stop solos for violin, viola and cello — featuring popular hymns, folk songs, wedding selections and Christmas tunes — has earned praise from teachers, performers and pedagogues:

"Mrs. Yasuda's idea of relating double stops to duets is very cleverly done and is clearly a demonstration of Dr. Suzuki's idea of making learning enjoyable for the student." ~ Suzuki pioneer, William Starr

Her arrangements are "expertly written and carefully edited for the student, and they delight with originality and flair." ~ William Preucil, Sr., Professor of Music (Emeritus) at The University of Iowa

"The six-volume Yasuda violin and cello duo series includes well-crafted, carefully edited arrangements for all levels of players, from the novice to the advanced." ~ Christopher Rex, Principal Cellist with the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra since 1979
Martha's recent publications, Timeless Melodies, Volumes I and II, include duets for top favorite pieces from Barbara Barber's six-volume series. Barber writes: "Finally, someone has written violin duet parts for many of the pieces in Solos For Young Violinists! They are well-written and easy to read. Thank you, Martha!"

Martha (Lewis) Yasuda grew up in Lynchburg, VA and studied violin with Suzuki teacher-trainer, Rudy Hazucha. She studied violin with Zvi Zeitlin and Charlie Castleman at the Eastman School, and with William Starr at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville, TN. She has freelanced with many different orchestras, including the Rochester Philharmonic, the Savannah Symphony, and the Greenville Symphony, and she always has maintained a teaching studio. In recent years, her arranging has taken front seat, as she continues to create materials that aim to inspire students, teachers and young audience members.

Mrs. Yasuda lives in Atlanta with her husband, Ken, and is a grandmother of four. She feels fortunate to be able to express herself through arranging music and gives all glory to God for the creativity she has been given.

Ratings & Reviews

Customer Questions