Mendelssohn, Felix - String Quartet in f minor, Op. post. 80 - Two Violins, Viola, and Cello - G. Henle Verlag URTEXT

Item # 5459 114

Sale: $26.96 SHAR: $29.95

In Stock


  • Email this Item to a Friend

Average Customer Rating:

No Rating
Composed in the summer of 1847, not long before Mendelssohn's own early death, the String Quartet No. 6 in f minor, Op. 80, is much darker than his previous quartets, full of the composer's grief over his sister Fanny's death several months prior. The depth of his emotional turmoil can be heard particularly in the second movement, an Allegro assai, which alternates between furiously driving rhythms and melancholy reflection, perhaps representing the "anger" stage of grieving. By contrast, the third movement is tender and nostalgic, as though remembering happier times. The quartet was not published until 1850, three years after Mendelssohn's death. This Urtext edition contains parts for two violins, viola, and cello (no score), and is edited by Ernst Herttrich. Published by G. Henle Verlag. Difficulty: A5
  • Vendor Item Number: 678
  • Publisher:
  • UPC Number: 073999006780
  • ISBN Number: 0793548284
  • Length in inches: 11
  • Width in inches: 8.5
  • Weight in ounces: 7.7
  • Number of pages: 30
Sheet Music Return Policy
If you are not satisfied with this item for any reason, you may return it for a full refund within 30 days of purchase. Unless the music received is defective or has been shipped in error, all returned music will be subject to a restocking fee of $2.00 per title.

If you have any questions about this product's warranty or to make a return, please contact our Customer Service Department at 800.793.4334 or email us at sharserv@sharmusic.com

May we suggest

You can still order this item today. Shar ships in stock items immediately and there's no extra shipping charge for your backordered items. For more information please click here: Backorder Policy