Bartók, Béla - Sixth String Quartet, Sz. 103 - Set of Parts - Boosey & Hawkes Edition

Item # 5264 103

Sale: $44.99 SHAR: $49.99

In Stock


  • Email this Item to a Friend

Average Customer Rating:

No Rating
The String Quartet No. 6 was the last piece Bartók composed in Hungary before emigrating to the U.S. in 1940, in the midst of the Second World War. It was his last composition for several years, in fact, until the famous Concerto for Orchestra was commissioned and written in 1943. The sixth quartet is notable in that each movement begins with a similar theme, marked "Mesto," or "sadly." In the first three movements, this theme is followed by a different character, but the final movement departs from this pattern, maintaining the "mesto" motive throughout. This may be partly related to the death of the composer's mother during the writing of this work; earlier sketches show that he planned a livelier, folk-dance-inspired ending, but at some point he changed direction, turning the movement into an intensely introspective memorial.

This edition contains parts for two violins, viola, and cello.

Difficulty: A6

Click here to learn more about the Apprentice and ASTA Sheet Music Difficulty Ratings.
  • Vendor Item Number: 48008789
  • Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
  • UPC Number: 073999175288
  • ISBN Number:
  • Length in inches: 11
  • Width in inches: 8.5
  • Weight in ounces: 8
  • Number of pages:
Sheet Music Return Policy
If you are not satisfied with this item for any reason, you may return it for a full refund within 30 days of purchase. Unless the music received is defective or has been shipped in error, all returned music will be subject to a restocking fee of $2.00 per title.

If you have any questions about this product's warranty or to make a return, please contact our Customer Service Department at 800.793.4334 or email us at sharserv@sharmusic.com

May we suggest

You can still order this item today. Shar ships in stock items immediately and there's no extra shipping charge for your backordered items. For more information please click here: Backorder Policy