Lyon & Healy The Hawley Collection of Violins

Item # RB325E


In Stock


  • Email this Item to a Friend

Average Customer Rating:

No Rating
Published by Lyon & Healy, 1904.
This book about the Hawley Collection of Violins presents a history of their makers and a brief review of the evolution and decline of the art of violin-making in Italy 1540-1800. It includes instruments by Stradivari (the Healy and the Earl), Guarneri del Gesu (King Joseph and Jarnowick), Nicola Amati, Maggini, Bergonzi, Rogeri, Guadagnini, Joseph filius Andrea Guarneri, Stainer, and Lupot! Limited to only 2000 copies. 105 pp., 36 full-page plates illustrating 12 instruments. A copy brought about $1000 at the Christie's auction of November, 1988.
This standard edition is bound in red cloth with gray-green covers cover. There is no slip cover.
This particular book, pictured above, is in very good condition (binding fairly loose, corners of covers damaged). This is edition #1737 out of 2000 printed copies. inscription: E.L. Schambra May 12, 1904

May we suggest

You can still order this item today. Shar ships in stock items immediately and there's no extra shipping charge for your backordered items. For more information please click here: Backorder Policy